Graduate Study in Geological Engineering

Thank you for your interest in graduate studies in Geological Engineering. The Geological Engineering graduate program is an interdisciplinary program between engineering and geology. Graduate students pursuing a geotechnical engineering degree within Civil & Environmental Engineering are also part of the Geological Engineering graduate program. Students in the Geological Engineering graduate program include a broad range of engineers and geoscientists pursuing all facets of geological engineering. We have a dynamic graduate research program with engineering and geoscience professors, visiting professors, academic staff members, and a cadre of graduate students. Our research topics cover a broad range of topics including geoenvironmental engineering, water resources, hydrogeology, hydroecology, rock mechanics, structural geology, geosynthetic engineering, and sensor technology, to foundation engineering, site characterization, slope stability, soil dynamics, non-destructive evaluation, engineering geophysics, sustainability, and alternative energy systems. The graduate program accepts students throughout the year and offers research and teaching assistantships on a competitive basis. Students wishing to be admitted to the Graduate Program in Geological Engineering must satisfy the admission requirements of the UW-Madison Graduate School and the College of Engineering. Information on the requirements for the graduate program is provided in the GLE Graduate Student Handbook. Graduate study in Geological Engineering is more than classes and research. Madison is a wonderful place to live with a variety of opportunities for recreation, entertainment, and socializing. The graduate student community has a strong social program with many group activities. Learn more about opportunites for activities at Student Life.

Graduate Student and Research Assistant Directory

Name Title Office E-mail
Idil Akin Akin, Idil Denise MS Student  2243 Engineering Hall iakin@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Alsbahan, Abdullah 2243 Engineering Hall alsabhan@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Bautista, Joel 2243 Engineering Hall bautista2@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Bina, Alex abina@cgcinc.net
Merve Gizem Bozkurt Bozkurt, Merve Gizem PhD Student  2243 Engineering Hall bozkurt@wisc.edu
Jiannan Chen Chen, Jiannan PhD Student 1217 Engineering Hall jchen229@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon Dolcek, Tolga 2243 Engineering Hall dolcek@wisc.edu
Jongwon Eun Eun, Jongwon PhD Student 2243 Engineering Hall eun2@wisc.edu
Max Garnier-Villareal Garnier-Villareal, Max PhD Student 2243 Engineering Hall garniervilla@wisc.edu
Erica Hagen Hagen, Erica PhD Student 2243 Engineering Hall ehagen@wisc.edu
Damien Hesse Hesse, Damien MS Student 1217 Engineering Hall dhesse2@wisc.edu
Erin Hunter Hunter, Erin PhD Student 1217 Engineering Hall elhunter@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Lee, Jeongki lee545@wisc.edu
Xiaoding Ma Ma, Xiaodong PhD Student M148 Material Science Building xma32@wisc.edu
Kongrat Nokkaew Nokkaew, Kongrat PhD Student 2243 Engineering Hall nokkaew@wisc.edu
Hyunjun Oh Oh, Hyunjun MS Student 2243 Engineering Hall hoh37@wisc.edu
Ayse Ozdogan Ozdogan, Ayse  PhD Student  2243 Engineering Hall aozdogan@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon Ren, Linxue  1217 Engineering Hall lren23@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Salihogli, Hulya salihoglu@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Su, Junwei jsu23@wisc.edu
Kuo Tian Tian, Kuo PhD Student  2243 Engineering Hall ktian@wisc.edu
Matthew Walker Walker, Matthew MS Student  2243 Engineering Hall mdwalker@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon  Warren, Ben bjwarren@wisc.edu
Ray Wu Wu, Ray MS Student  2243 Engineering Hall rwu3@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon Wu, Zhenzhong 1217 Engineering Hall zwu59@wisc.edu
Yi Lang Yang, Li MS Student 1217 Engineering Hall yli352@wisc.edu
Jun Yao Yao, Jun MS Student  1217 Engineering Hall jyao27@wisc.edu
Yilmaz Mehmet Yilmaz, Mehmet MS Student  1217 Engineering Hall myilmaz2@wisc.edu
Hua Yu Yu, Hua MS Student 2243 Engineering Hall hyu83@wisc.edu
Faith Zangl Zangl, Faith MS Student  2243 Engineering Hall fzangl@wisc.edu
 Image Coming Soon Zen, Wei-Hao