Graduate Study in Geological Engineering

Thank you for your interest in graduate studies in Geological Engineering. The Geological Engineering graduate program is an interdisciplinary program between engineering and geology. Graduate students pursuing a geotechnical engineering degree within Civil & Environmental Engineering are also part of the Geological Engineering graduate program. Students in the Geological Engineering graduate program include a broad range of engineers and geoscientists pursuing all facets of geological engineering. We have a dynamic graduate research program with engineering and geoscience professors, visiting professors, academic staff members, and a cadre of graduate students. Our research topics cover a broad range of topics including geoenvironmental engineering, water resources, hydrogeology, hydroecology, rock mechanics, structural geology, geosynthetic engineering, and sensor technology, to foundation engineering, site characterization, slope stability, soil dynamics, non-destructive evaluation, engineering geophysics, sustainability, and alternative energy systems. The graduate program accepts students throughout the year and offers research and teaching assistantships on a competitive basis. Students wishing to be admitted to the Graduate Program in Geological Engineering must satisfy the admission requirements of the UW-Madison Graduate School and the College of Engineering. Information on the requirements for the graduate program is provided in the GLE Graduate Student Handbook. Graduate study in Geological Engineering is more than classes and research. Madison is a wonderful place to live with a variety of opportunities for recreation, entertainment, and socializing. The graduate student community has a strong social program with many group activities. Learn more about opportunites for activities at Student Life.

Question about GLE graduate school may be sent to: gle.gradadmissions@engr.wisc.edu 

Graduate Student and Research Assistant Directory

Name Title Office E-mail
Idil Akin Akin, Idil Deniz PhD Student  2243 Engineering Hall iakin@wisc.edu
 Picture1  Alsbahan, Abdullah  PhD Student 2243 Engineering Hall alsabhan@wisc.edu
gizem gle Bozkurt, Merve Gizem PhD Student  2243 Engineering Hall bozkurt@wisc.edu
mmexport1432682232752 Chen, Jiannan PhD Student 1217 Engineering Hall jchen229@wisc.edu
thumbnail_DomCiruzzi Ciruzzi, Dom PhD Student 1226 Engineering Hall ciruzzi@wisc.edu
 IMG_0548 Del Pont, Kelly  MS Student 2243 Engineering Hall  kdelponte@wisc.edu
Paulo Florio ..fw Florio, Paulo MS Student 2243 Engineering Hall florio@wisc.edu
Max Garnier-Villareal Garnier-Villareal, Max PhD Student 2243 Engineering Hall garniervilla@wisc.edu
Picture6  Geng, Weijuan  PhD Student 2225 Engineering Hall weijuan@wisc.edu
 image1  Lee, Jeongki PhD Student 1217 Engineering Hall lee545@wisc.edu
 DSC_0044 McDaniels, Adam MS Student 2243 Engineering Hall  almcdaniel@wisc.edu
Hyunjun Oh Oh, Hyunjun MS Student 2243 Engineering Hall hoh37@wisc.edu
William Reybock Reybrock, William MS Student 2225 Engineering Hall wreybrock@wisc.edu
 IMG_3423 Su, Jun Wei MS student  2243 Engineering Hall  jsu23@wisc.edu
stefani Stefani, Nicholas MS Student 2225 Engineering Hall stefani@wisc.edu
 image Vigilante, Peter MS Student  2243 Engineering Hall  pvigilante@wisc.edu
 Picture11 Williams, Kyle MS Student  2243 Engineering Hall  williams28@wisc.edu
Jun Yao Yao, Jun PhD Student  1217 Engineering Hall jyao27@wisc.edu
Mehmet yilmaz Yilmaz, Mehmet PhD Student  1217 Engineering Hall myilmaz2@wisc.edu
Picture13 Zen, Wei-Hao  MS Student 1217 Engineering Hall wzen@wisc.edu